Blockchain for Europe Summit 2020

Brussels, Belgium

The Blockchain for Europe Summit took place on 5 February 2020 in the European Parliament in Brussels, Belgium.

Register to "Blockchain for Europe Summit 2020"


09:00 - 09:30


09:30 - 10:30

Governments on Blockchain: Security – Infrastructure – Taxation

Hosted by: MEP Claudia Gamon

Austria, RE, European Parliament

Moderator: Brad Staples

CEO, APCO Worldwide


Peteris Zilgalvis

Head of Unit, Start-ups & Blockchain (Co-Head of FinTech Taskforce), DG CONNECT, European Commission

Albert Isola

Minister for Digital and Financial Services, Gibraltar

Jason Kelley

General Manager, Blockchain Services, IBM
10:30 - 11:10

Fireside Chat – “Identity – Decentralisation as the way forward?”

Moderator: Kristof Van De Reck

Chair, Blockchain for Europe


Daniël Du Seuil

Convenor European Self Sovereign Identity Framework (EBSI), European Blockchain Partnership

Rob van Kranenburg

Founder, IoT Council
11:10 - 11:30

Coffee Break

11:30 - 12:10

Fireside Chat – “Blockchain-coopetition in the energy space”

Moderator: Charles Esser

Secretary General, Council of European Energy Regulators (CEER)


David Elmes

Professor on Global Energy Research Network, Strategy & International Business, Warwick Business School

Stephen Donnelly

CIO, Spectral
12:10 - 13:10

Healthcare and Data Security – Blockchain as solution?

Hosted by: MEP Eva Maydell

Bulgaria, EPP, European Parliament

Moderator: Michal Boni

Blockchain for Europe Advisory Council, Former Polish Minister for Digitization & former MEP


Frank Ricotta

CEO & Founder, BurstIQ

Andrzej Rys

Director for Health Systems, Medical Products and Innovation, DG SANTE, European Commission

Maria Palombini

Director, Communities & Initiatives Development, Life Sciences, IEEE Standards Association

Tjebbe Tauber

Communications Manager, Inspire2live
13:10 - 14:20

Lunch Break

14:20 - 15:20

Mobility in IoT age – Blockchain as the infrastructure

Hosted by: MEP Henna Virkkunen

Finland, EPP, European Parliament

Moderator: Marta Belcher

Chair, Filecoin Foundation


Maria Minaricova

Director of Business Development, Fetch.ai

Nik Scharmann

Project Director “Economy of Things”, Bosch / Catena-X board member

John Calian

Senior Vice-President & Head, T-Labs

Isabelle Vandoorne

Deputy Head of Unit for Sustainable and Intelligent Transport, DG MOVE, European Commission
15:20 - 16:00

Fireside Chat – “Stablecoins: Between CBDC and Libra”

Moderator: Lee Schneider

General Counsel, Ava Labs


Dirk Schrade

Head of Payment and Settlement Systems Department, Bundesbank

Maximilian Forster

Global Head of Business Development, CashOnLedger
16:00 - 16:30

Coffee Break

16:30 - 17:30

Tokenisation – Securing the Future of Capital Markets

Hosted by: MEP Jessica Stegrud

Sweden, ECR, European Parliament

Moderator: Ashley Fox

Senior Advisor, APCO Worldwide


Jan Ceyssens

Head of Unit for Digital Finance, DG FISMA, European Commission

Jennifer Peve

Managing Director of Business Innovation, DTCC

Siddhartha Siddhartha

Founder & CEO, Intain

Jens Hachmeister

Managing Director, Issuer Services & New Digital Markets, Deutsche Börse Group
17:30 - 18:30

The Ultimate Impact of Blockchain

Hosted by: MEP Eva Kaili

Chair of the Future of Science and Technology Panel, S&D, European Parliament


Matthew Roszak

Chairman & Co-Founder, Bloq

Manmeet Singh

Managing Partner & Vice-Chair of Blockchain for Europe, Blockseed Ventures

Gloria Wu

COO & Global Head of Partnerships, Ontology

Jutta Steiner

CEO & Founder, Parity Technologies